Normal.....hmm am I normal yet? Well I guess I have reached a new norm so to speak I have put up a new mailbox (Well that's a lie, I heard that my husband did it and it was there when I checked this morning so I guess it did happen) It is a very old mailbox a relic, maybe, but I prefer to refer to it as, vintage box, one that was so lovingly decorated by sis-in-law and now teeters atop of some old rickety post at the corner of our new lot of bliss.
I have been settling like a fool. Finding new homes for aformentioned crap and doing laundry, yardwork and all sorts of interesting and exciting stuff.
When we moved in we were notified by our lovely new HOA (home owners association) that the palm tree MUST be trimmed and a paint dribble that was in our drive way MUST be cleaned up or there would be repercussions that could dent the pocketbook. I being the responsible home owner hopped on the bandwagon for a few seconds on Sunday afternoon. I decided that the long drooping berry fronds must go now instread of later, later being when our trash came (more to come on that later) and started hacking away at the surprisingly tough foilage. The berries were nasty, they were greasy little blobs that got everywhere and stained and stuck to EVERYTHING. After the first frond came down I realized this was a mistake and there would be much more work involved than I had planned and hopped off the bandwagon just as quick as I hopped on. Thank goodness my mom was there she helped me load up the mess and haul it to the dumpster.
So the garbage it should be a fairly easy job right? You put it out on the curb it gets picked up you take it back in. Presto. Right? WRONG. I decided on Tuesday of last week that considering that Thursday was Thanksgiving there would be no trash so I didn't bother to put the trash out, I mean DUH its Thanksgiving. I felt so smug, I had saved my self some extra work (I know I am a bit lazy sometimes I admit it). Thursday morning dawned and guess what I heard rumbling by, that is right the dang garbage truck. I was skating and skidding about in my stocking feet on the super slick tile trying to get the garbage. Alas it was not to be I watched it putter down the street ignoring my yelps of protest. I was so mad, its okay I am over it now but my garbage it a bit overflowing and it is a bit disgusting.
I have been channeling all of that leftover thanksgiving spread into some rather interesting dishes. I made some squash/cabbage soup tonight and sprinkled in some turkey for kicks it actually turned out quite nice. However I am need some new ideas for leftovers, Got any?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



Try some turkey curry -- Jacy's friend Katy made some with the bird over there and it sounded good
ReplyDelete